Got a new lens and had to play a bit

I purchased a Tokina 35mm f/2.8 Macro lens today on a whim.  I don’t usually buy lenses on a whim, but I got a great deal and it’s a really interesting lens.  I say it’s interesting because it’s hard to find a macro lens that is so short . . . I own and love the Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 macro lens, but it’s pretty bulky, and also gives really different results due to the focal length.   The Tokina 35mm is very compact, easier to shoot hand-held, and remarkably sharp.  To get full 1:1 at 35mm, you nearly touch the subject with the front of the lens . . . which is certainly not always a positive thing, but I’ve been trying for quite a while to figure out how to combine the distortion that I can get from a wide-angle with the close up detail I can get from a macro lens.  This doesn’t quite get to where I’d like to get, but it’s still great!

If nothing else, this gives me a much lighter and more compact option for macro when I go traveling or hiking and want to pack light.
Let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Got a new lens and had to play a bit

    • It’s remarkably affordable – you can get one new for only $300! I got this one used (mint) for $225. It’s a great way to get into macro and/or just find a lighter/more portable macro option.

      Have fun!

Share your thoughts

